Sunday, November 28, 2010

Review: The Ghost Hunter by Lori Brighton

Title: The Ghost Hunter
Author: Lori Brighton

Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Formats:  ebook
Publication Date:  September 11, 2010
Word Count: approx. 107,605 (Novel)
Page count on Sony Reader:  308
Source:  ebook provided by author

 



DESCRIPTION from Goodreads: 
Ashley Hunter is intent on uncovering the truth about her father's disappearance. But Ashley realizes she's in for more than she bargained. Not only has she inherited a decrepit pub, she's also inherited ghosts and demons. Then Cristian arrives, a mysterious man who insists he only needs a room to rent. She believes him, until one by one her ghosts start disappearing...

As a fallen angel destined for a life of servitude, Cristian Lucius is relegated to protecting earth from unwanted spirits. But he can’t accomplish this daunting task alone. He requires assistance from the very woman who frustrates him as much as she intrigues him. Cristian is determined to ignore his intense attraction for Ashley, and focus on his mission. If they don’t work together, they won’t have a chance in hell of defeating the demon threatening their lives. The problem is getting Ashley to trust him. No easy task, for Cristian is the very man responsible for her father’s disappearance.

* * * * *

MY REVIEW: 
I’ve really been looking forward to reading this book.  That yummy cover would stare at me from the queue, taunting me.  I was excited to finally get a chance to dig into it. Unfortunately, even though it seemed to have all the elements of a good paranormal romance, for some reason it didn’t completely click with me.  This may be because of a number of issues I came across with the story and characters, and then there are the typos…all 43 of them. Too many to dismiss and they eventually started to distract me from the story. Underneath it all the story has some good bones and in the end I have to say that I liked it, but just barely.

So we have Cristian, a fallen angel doing time on planet Earth sending stubborn ghosties to the other side.  He’s your classic alpha male character—gorgeous, muscular, and a Scottish brogue to round out the yum factor.  Then we have Ashley, while not quite the kick-ass heroine, she is a bit stubborn and feisty and can see and talk to ghosts—just what a ghost hunter needs.  Though I started out liking both Cristian and Ashley, both of them eventually started to irritate me.  At times I wanted to slap Cristian upside the head.  He was constantly getting angry, frustrated, and annoyed with Ashley because she couldn’t figure out who she was, accept her powers, or know what to do and how to do it. Yet does he ever help her to figure this out at all? Does he guide her? Does he give her hints or even--gasp--just tell her anything?  Well no. He wants her to figure it all out on her own.  On Ashley’s part, I found her to be a bit selfish sometimes and at other times she came off as a tease.  More than once she would be on the receiving end of a romantic encounter with Cristian then suddenly push him away.  The attraction and romantic tension between them was evident, but I got tired of the whole cat and mouse game. 

As my interest in the main characters dwindled, I started to really like some of the secondary characters to include the ghosts in the house (especially Devon, yum!) and also Camile, a young witch, who befriends Ashley and helps her with the paranormal challenges she inherited with the house.  There is also a town filled with other paranormal characters that show up more in the second half of the book. 

Back to Devon, the ghost.  He makes up the third point of a love triangle with Cristian and Ashley.   I found myself actually rooting more for Devon than Cristian at times.  He had a vulnerability about him that was hard to resist.  My interest definitely increased a bit when Devon came more fully into the story.

Though I was okay with the dialogue and writing style overall, some scenes were confusing and I did come across what appear to be some inconsistencies unless I missed something along the way.  One example is a scene that happened near or on a staircase.  At one point the characters are on the ground and the next moment someone is moving down the stairs.  I had to go back and reread this sequence a few times to be sure I didn’t miss a transition somewhere. 

There are several mysteries going on in this book.  There is the mystery of Cristian and what exactly his purpose is especially in relation to Ashley. The mystery of what Ashley actually is. There is also the mystery of what happened to Ashley’s father and the mystery of what is in the basement.  You could also say there is some mystery surrounding Devon and his past.  So there is definitely some intrigue going on in the story and pieces get revealed slowly until all gets revealed in the end. 

Overall, there was a decent story here but it was overshadowed by excessive typos, inconsistencies, and annoying character traits. It did take me a while to pick through it as I found it easy to put down and wasn’t that compelled to get back to it, but in the end I would say I liked it more than not. I don’t know if this book is planned as a series as it seemed to be pretty wrapped up at the end, but I’m interested enough that I would be willing to try the next book.

Rating:  3 – I Liked It (Just)

Heat Level:  Sensual/Spicy – door is mostly open but not as frequent or as graphic as an erotic romance.

Typos found:  43 (ouch)

* * * * *

This book is available in various ebook formats. You can find Lori Brighton on the web at:

Website: http://www.loribrighton.com/
Blog: http://loribrighton.blogspot.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/loribrighton
Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2919562.Lori_Brighton

Get the book!  Smashwords, Kindle, Nook


Friday, November 26, 2010

Friday Finds: Sweet Indie Deals

Friday Finds is a way to share super sweet deals for indie paranormal ebooks.  All Friday finds are priced from Free ~ $3.00 and represent an awesome deal for the word count.

Books listed in Friday Finds have not been reviewed unless noted below with a link to the review.  It's up to the reader to determine if the ebook is a good fit for their reading tastes.  Follow the links for a description of the ebook and to download a free sample to see if you might like it. It's a great way to "test drive" a book.

Prices valid at the time of this post but they can change at any time, so get 'em while the gettin' is good!

* * * * *
Promise by Kristie Cook
Word Count: approx. 94,637 (Novel)
Black Friday Special!!  
Only good thru Monday 11/29/2010



Spirit Chasers: Unleashed by Ashley Wasylenko
Word Count: approx. 58,810 (Short Novel)


Along Came a Demon by Linda Welch
Word Count: approx.  45,812 (Short Novel)


Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by HP Mallory
(I've posted this one before but it appears to be on sale for Kindle & Nook)
Word Count: approx. 117,390 (Novel)
$0.99 Kindle
$0.99 Nook
Still $2.99 at Smashwords  :(


Earthshaker by Robert T. Jeschonek
Word Count: approx. 105,111 (Novel)



Thursday, November 25, 2010

Happy Thanksgiving!

Just taking a moment to wish a Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!


Now back to your regularly scheduled turkey...


Monday, November 22, 2010

Sneak Peek! Toil and Trouble by HP Mallory

Sneak Peek! is a new feature showcasing tantalizing teasers for upcoming releases in the paranormal indiesphere.

 * * * * * 

Toil and Trouble by HP Mallory
Jolie Wilkins, Book 2
Release Date:  January 1st, 2011

* * * * *
Suddenly, I felt cold fingers probing the wound and thought the pain would kill me then and there. I pried my eyes open to find Sinjin before me, spattered with blood. He’d killed the wolf—that much was obvious.

“Sinjin, it bit me!”

“Jolie.” It was all Sinjin could utter before Rand bowled him over.

“Get the fuck away from her!” Rand screamed as Sinjin sidestepped him as fast as lightning.

“She has been bitten by a wolf!” Sinjin roared.

“What?!” I demanded, realizing the weight of Sinjin’s statement—I was about to get hairy. A scream sounded from the depths of my body as I attempted to face the facts.

When Rand came into sight, his concerned expression didn’t fill me with much hope.

“Christ,” he whispered as he inspected my wound. He touched it and all the burning within me seemed concentrated directly beneath his fingertips.

“Rand, it hurts!” I pleaded as the fire rained within me. Whatever was happening was happening fast. Rand’s eyes were wide as he placed his hand on my forehead as if checking my temperature. Then he turned to Sinjin.

“She’s turning,” he said, his voice belying the fact that he was nervous.

“Stop it from happening!” I squealed before another spasm of pain racked my insides and I bit down hard, tasting the blood of my own lip.

“I can suck out the toxins,” Sinjin said in a calm voice, his eyes glowing eerily in the moonlight as he took a step closer to my bed.

“No,” Rand said, shaking his head. “I can heal her myself.”

“You do not have time,” Sinjin said as he glanced at me. “She is turning too rapidly.”

At the hideous prospect of becoming a wolf, I gripped Rand’s hand. If Sinjin could stop it, I needed his help. “Please, Rand.”

Rand gulped hard and told Sinjin. “Do it quickly.”

Sinjin’s smile was wickedly purposeful. “You will have to charm her so she will not feel it.”

Although vampires can bewitch their prey, rendering the victim an unwitting accomplice in the theft of their blood, vampires can’t bewitch witches. That is, of course, unless Rand used his magic to make me susceptible to Sinjin’s power.

Rand gritted his teeth, the emotions of whether or not to allow Sinjin to seduce me playing across his face. “No, I can’t allow her to succumb to you,” Rand said, tightlipped. “My magic will…”

“Very well but this will be incredibly painful,” Sinjin interrupted with a shrug and sat down beside me, leaning over as he inspected the wolf’s bite. As he looked at me, his fangs lengthened. I closed my eyes as another eruption of molten pain flowed through me.

“Please, Rand, please do what he’s asking!”

Rand paused a moment more before kneeling down, placing my head between his large hands, riveting my attention. “Look at me, Jolie, and don’t break eye contact.”

I nodded and although another spasm seized me, I forced my eyes open. Rand didn’t say anything as he gazed at me, almost like he was seeing through me. I could only gasp at the incredible pain that was now spreading into my stomach, feeling like my body was eating itself.

Seconds later, Rand released my head and stood up. “It’s done,” he said in a small voice.

Sinjin nodded and grasped my hand. “Look at me, Poppet. This will not cause you pain, do you understand?”

I nodded dumbly and lost myself in the crystal blue of Sinjin’s eyes. His pupils dilated until the black swallowed the ice blue only to immediately return to normal. Like a light switch turning off, the pain that had been coursing through me suddenly vanished.

And all there was was Sinjin.
 * * * * *

Um, is it January yet?  lol! I'm dying to know what happens, argh!  If you need another dose of the Jolie Wilkins world, you're in luck.  Check out HP's website for the whole first chapter, yay!  While you are there sign up for the distribution list to keep up to date on all the latest news and release information.

Other books by HP Mallory:

Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble
Jolie Wilkins, Book 1
***IPBR Reviewed***
Kindle / Smashwords / Nook

To Kill a Warlock
Dulcie O'Neil, Book 1
Kindle / Smashwords / Nook
* * * * *

I hope you enjoyed this Sneak Peek!   I sure did :)



If you are an indie author with an upcoming paranormal fiction release and would like to share a Sneak Peek, just contact me a mishcara (at) gmail (dot) com.  

Friday, November 19, 2010

Friday Finds: Sweet Indie Deals

Friday Finds is a way to share super sweet deals for indie paranormal ebooks.  All Friday finds are priced from Free ~ $3.00 and represent an awesome deal for the word count.

Books listed in Friday Finds have not been reviewed unless noted below with a link to the review.  It's up to the reader to determine if the book is a good fit for their reading tastes.  Follow the links for a description of the book and to download a free sample to see if you might like it. It's a great way to "test drive" a book.

Prices valid at the time of this post but they can change at any time, so get 'em while the gettin' is good!

 
 Powerless: The Synthesis by Jason Letts
Word Count: approx. 89,855 (Novel)



 Camille by Tess Oliver
Word Count: approx. 65,150 (Novel)



Inhuman by Danielle Lee
Word Count: approx. 55,713 (Short Novel)


A Feral Darkness by Doranna Durgin
Word Count: approx. 102,907 (Novel)



Powerful Magic by Karen Whiddon
Word Count: approx. 91,824 (Novel)







Thursday, November 18, 2010

Cover Love #8 - Hush Money by Susan Bishoff

I've always loved this cover.  I think it is a great fit for the story and it always seems to catch my eye. Even in a thumbnail it pops. I'm looking forward to seeing the cover for the next book in the series...aw heck, I'm just plain 'ole looking forward to the next book! :)


Hush Money by Susan Bischoff
Be normal, invisible. Don’t get close to anyone. Kids with psychic abilities tend to mysteriously disappear when they get noticed. Joss has spent years trying to hide. Now she has an unasked-for best friend, who is the victim of an extortion plot by the school bully, who used to like Joss, who is best friends with her long-time crush, who is actually talking to her. Life just got more complicated. 
~~~~~

Hop on over to Goodreads and show your love...cover love that is!  Click the link below and add your favorite indie paranormal cover art then vote for your favorites.  (Anyone can view but Goodreads membership needed to vote... it's free!).

Vote on your favorite Indie Book Cover Art

~~

While you are there, check out the other list for voting on your favorite PNR/UF indie books.  A great way to recommend your favorites to other readers and find some new awesome books to read for yourself. Both links are on the left sidebar too.  

Indie Books - Paranormal Fiction
Vote for and Recommend your favorite PNR/UF Indie Books



Got some cover lovin' going on?  Share a link to it in the comments and tell us why you love it :)

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Teaser Tuesday #5 - Nov 16, 2010

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

~~~~~
 My Tuesday Teaser this week is from The Ghost Hunter by Lori Brighton


ebook

ePage 103
     The words on the sword were meant as a reminder for him and his kind.  A reminder of  what could happen if you strayed from the path of good.  But at the moment he didn't give a damn. At the moment her compassion did him in.  He was tired...so tired of living.  So tired of people coming and going, the merest whispered memory of a dream.  Humans gone so fast that it was easier not to befriend them, not to care.
     He was tired of not feeling.
~~~~~

Do you have a teaser to share?  PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your 2 ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!


Saturday, November 13, 2010

Review: Space Junque by LK Rigel

NOTE:  Space Junque was retitled in January 2011 and is now known as HERO MATERIAL. It also has a new cover but this review was based on the original title and cover so it will not be changed below.  The story is exactly the same, it just had a cover/title makeover.  You can view the new cover and read LK's reasons for the change on her guest post HERE.



Title: Space Junque
Author:  LK Rigel

Genre:  Paranormal Space Opera Romance
Format:  ebook
Publication Date: September 2, 2010
Word Count: approx.  26,939 (Novella)
Page count on Sony Reader:  87
Source:  ebook provided by author

In Flagrante Apocalypto, Book 1 (Prequel)



DESCRIPTION from Goodreads: 
Char Meadowlark accepts an invitation to visit the Imperial Space Station from Mike Augustine, her dead sister's fiancé. While she's in orbit eco-terrorists start a planet-wide war.

Stranded above the earth, Char and Mike are thrown together. He wants more from her than friendship, but she can't stop thinking about Jake, the man who saved her life.

Jake Ardri is the bastard son of the Emperor's favorite courtesan. He hates politics and keeps to himself, running the rich and powerful to off-planet vacations in his shuttle, the Space Junque. When Mike Augustine asks for yet another favor, Jake thinks nothing of it -- just see that Mike's friend gets off planet safely. Jake doesn't expect to fall so hard and fast for the privileged "blue-carder" he finds in his Junque.

But is love even possible in flagrante apocalypto?

*****

MY REVIEW: 
When LK approached me about reviewing this book my nose crinkled a bit -- Space Opera…um, not really my thing. I’ll watch it but not too keen on reading it. But then I looked a little closer at the description and chatted with LK about the book.  She said it had a Firefly vibe and had paranormal characters like a shapeshifter. Visions of Space 1999 (yeah, giving away my age there, huh?) filtered into my brain and one of my favorite characters from that series, Maya the shapeshifter. I agreed to give it a go. Well, I’m glad I did and I gobbled up this little nugget of a novella in no time.

In the distant future the country and world as we know have drastically changed due to environmental disasters like the Gulf Oil spill of 2010.  Radical environmental terrorists know as DOGs (Defenders of Gaia) are wreaking havoc.  The story opens with Char desperately trying to get to the terminal on time to catch a ride off-world on the Imperial Shuttle.  There is an attack at the terminal just before she is about to board and Char is saved by Jake Ardri, pilot of a ship called the Space Junque.  Sparks start to fly between Char and Jake amidst all the chaos.  Mike, who arranged for Char to get on the shuttle, has feelings for her too but he also has his own agenda.  With the world falling apart, the old gods are stepping in and Char appears to be part of their plans. 

Space Junque is action-packed from the beginning. There is always something going on to keep your interest.  The paranormal aspect starts to come in about halfway through the book when we meet the goddess Asherah and this is where my interest definitely picked up. I still enjoyed it up until that point, but what can I say?  I like my paranormal. Did I get my shapeshifter? Yeah, sort of, just not quite what I expected. I’m still trying to figure them out.

This story might appeal to those who prefer a lighter romantic element that doesn’t overshadow the main plot. The love scenes are mostly closed door.  I really liked Char and Jake but my preference for the romance would be a little more spice, which you could probably guess I was going to say if you’ve followed my reviews :) 

There is a lot going on in this little novella, though it is fairly well-rounded for the length. I enjoyed the writing style and dialogue, and it was edited well.  There are some unanswered questions at the end, but it’s a prequel to the next book, Spiderwork, so I expect we will see more of Char and Jake, gods and goddesses, shapeshifters, chosen ones, all that spacey stuff, and some futuristic swearing all wrapped up in an action-packed paranormal space opera adventure.  Sweet!


Rating:  4 – I Really Liked It

Typos found:  1

*****

This book is available as an ebook.  You can find LK Rigel on the web at:

Blog: http://www.lkrigel.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/likari
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4327516.L_K_Rigel

Read an Excerpt! 
http://www.lkrigel.com/spacejunque/lets-get-the-hell-off-this-rock-space-junque-ch1/

Get the book!  Kindle, Smashwords, B&N

Friday, November 5, 2010

Review: Cattitude by Edie Ramer

Title: Cattitude
Author:  Edie Ramer

Genre:  Light Fantasy Romance
Format:  ebook
Publication Date:  August 25, 2010
Word Count: approx.  90,490
Page count on Sony Reader:  206
Source:  ebook provided by author





 
DESCRIPTION from Goodreads: 

It's all in the Cattitude...

After Belle the cat switches bodies with a psychic on the run from a murderer, she wants her perfect cat body back instead of this furless human one. But she doesn't count on falling in love with her former owner. Or that a CEO and a beauty queen want to use up her nine lives. Now is her chance to prove anything a human can do, a cat can do better.

* * * * *

MY REVIEW: 
I quite enjoyed this light romantic tale of body switching.  As an owner of three cats, I have to admit I may be a little biased. I gravitate to cat-based stories like a dog to a chew toy, but the story still needs to hold its own and this one certainly did.

Belle (the cat) and Sorcha (the human) switch bodies (or souls, if you prefer) and experience what it is like to live like the other. They must adapt to their new experiences while dealing with murderers, unfamiliar amorous feelings, mean nannies, and lonely little girls.... among other things.

The narrative and dialogue were comfortable and I found myself easily drawn from one page to the next.  The characters were interesting and Belle, as a human, was just as stubborn and independent as my own cats. I could easily relate to all of her cat-related behaviors.  I also really liked the banter between Max and his brother, Ted. 

There is intrigue to the story but I wouldn’t call it a mystery since the bad guys are revealed to the reader from the start. It is more a slowly unraveling plot of what happens to both Belle and Sorcha in their newfound bodies,  what happens to the bad guys and their evil plans, and how it all ends up happily ever after.  And there are HEAs all over the place.  Except maybe for poor Ted… perhaps the author will take pity on him and give him a book of his own one day (hint, hint, nudge, nudge).

My only nitpick is the number of typos.  There were quite a few, but the other elements of the story were strong enough that I didn’t factor that into the rating.

Cattitude is a charming story for anyone who might enjoy a sweet romance with a “Freaky Friday” feline twist. 

Rating:  4 – I Really Liked It

Typos found: 15-17

* * * * *

This book is available as an ebook.  Keep your eyes peeled for Edie’s upcoming release, Dead People. You can find Edie Ramer on the web at:

Website: http://www.edieramer.com
Blog: http://www.edieramer.com/blog/index.php
Twitter: http://twitter.com/edieramer
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=747112424

Get the book!  Kindle, Smashwords, B & N

Friday Finds: Sweet Indie Deals

Friday Finds is a way to share super sweet deals for indie paranormal ebooks.  All Friday finds are priced from Free ~ $3.00 and represent an awesome deal for the word count.

Books listed in Friday Finds have not been reviewed unless noted below with a link to the review.  It's up to the reader to determine if the book is a good fit for their reading tastes.  Follow the links for a description of the book and to download a free sample to see if you might like it. It's a great way to "test drive" a book.

Prices valid at the time of this post but they can change at any time, so get 'em while the gettin' is good!
 Space Junque by LK Rigel
Word Count: approx. 26,396 (Novella)
$0.99 at Smashwords
$0.99 at Amazon
$0.99 at B&N
LIMITED TIME!!  Sale runs through November 14, 2010 (I think)
***IPBR REVIEWED***


Beautiful Demons by Sarra Cannon
Word Count: approx. 45,675 (Short Novel)
$0.99 at Smashwords
$0.99 at Amazon
$0.99 at B&N



Branded (Fall of Angels) by Keary Taylor
Word Count: approx. 97,129 (Novel)
$0.99 at Smashwords
$0.99 at Amazon
$0.99 at B&N



Storm of Magick by L.A. Burton
Word Count: approx. 80,972 (Novel)
$0.99 at Smashwords (No ePub! Ack!)
$2.99 at Amazon


Witch Hunt by Devin O'Branagan
Word Count: approx. 96,260 (Novel)
$2.99 at Smashwords
$2.99 at Amazon
$2.99 at B&N