Saturday, December 7, 2013

Review: The Forgotten Ones by Laura Howard

Genre:  YA Paranormal/Fae
Formats avail:  ebook, paperback
Publication Date: May 2013
Word Count: approx. 47,000
Print Length: 197 pgs
Kindle Locations: 2140 (story text ends at 98%)
Source:  Review Request from Author (but review copy obtained on my own from a free promo)

SERIES: The Danaan Trilogy, #1

BOOK BLURB: 
Allison O'Malley's plan is to go to grad school so she can get a good job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She has carefully closed herself off from everything else, including a relationship with Ethan, who she's been in love with for as long as she can remember.

What is definitely not part of the plan is the return of her long-lost father, who claims he can bring Allison's mother back from the dark place her mind has gone. Allison doesn't trust her father, so why would she believe his stories about a long forgotten Irish people, the Tuatha de Danaan? But truths have a way of revealing themselves. Secrets will eventually surface. And Allison must learn to set aside her plan and work with her father if there is even a small chance it could restore her mother's sanity.


MY THOUGHTS: 
Though I did read the sample of this book first and was interested in continuing it, the story overall ended up being mostly underwhelming. The plot, the characters, and the dialogue were all on the  meh side. Then there is the ending if you can call it that. Besides being unresolved, it just didn’t make sense to me based on what happened and what was said earlier in the book.

So we have the heroine, Allison, an introvert who is focused on doing whatever it takes to take care of her mother, who is mentally ill for reasons that will be revealed in the story. Allison prefers to avoid social interaction (though her cousin is always coercing her to go out) and constantly rebuffs Ethan who she has secretly liked for as long as she can remember. I actually liked Ethan and I was getting very frustrated with Allison for constantly pushing him away. I didn’t see any good reason why she can’t have a boyfriend and also take care of her mother. They did have one kiss in the book and it was sweet and made me like Ethan even more. Eventually, her long lost father, Liam, shows up. Later, her mother and Ethan both disappear. Liam and Allison then go on a mission to Tír na n’Óg to find them with the help of a rapidly introduced group of fae, who appear to be sympathetic to Allison and Liam’s plight.  

I found most of the characters and their reactions/interactions to be bland. The dialogue often had me going “huh?” One example is when Liam, who is Allison’s father, suddenly shows up after 22 years and discovers that Allison is his daughter. There is barely any reaction from him.  Likewise, when Allison discovers what Liam actually is, she doesn’t seem to suffer from much disbelief and it doesn’t take much convincing for her to accept that Liam is of the fae world but once a human who lived in the late 1800s. The dialogue followed suit as well, it often seemed to lack emotion.  Besides Ethan, I also liked Aodhan, who seemed a little more interesting than the other fae. Like Liam, he was once human but has lived among the fae so long he is now more fae. He seemed to have a few more layers to his character to make him more interesting but they are yet to be peeled away.

The plot itself felt lacking. It just seemed like there could have been so much more happening. Even the climactic moment when Allison was confronting Aoife and Breanh seemed to be over fast and fell flat as a climax. There was more talking then there was action. And I question how Aodhan got out of the trap that was set for him by Breanh.  He just shows up suddenly after all the action (non-action) of Allison’s confrontation with Aoife. There were also some events that were glossed over like the reunion of Liam and Allison’s mother.  They haven’t seen each other in 22 years and the entire reunion happened completely off screen.

The fae names had Celtic/Gaelic spelling that I, for the most part, didn’t know how to pronounce. There was actually a pronunciation guide at the end of the story, which I did appreciate since I don’t often see that in books with difficult names/words and it drives me nuts not knowing how to pronounce them. On the other hand, because it was at the end of the book, I went through the whole book pronouncing most of the names incorrectly. It would have been nice to see that at the beginning.

The cover art is very pretty and has an ethereal feel to it. The book is labeled as YA even though the characters are in their early twenties, which is usually more representative of an NA book these days. But honestly, the characters and their interactions come off as feeling younger than their age in the book so it does have more of a YA feel. 

So I did finish the book and though it was not a struggle, it was not really compelling me either. I could have put it down and not missed it. There were some instances where I felt there were logic blips or continuity issues. The ending was unresolved and made no sense to me since something that happened earlier in the book seemed to contradict what is said at the end. Though I can see how some people might really like this book, I just needed…more. More characterization, more plot, more action and reaction, more emotion, and more resolution. 

Rating:  2.5 stars

Heat Level: Sweet

Typos found: 4



  *****
The Forgotten Ones is available in both ebook and paperbook at:
 Amazon (ebook & paperback) | BN (paperback)

You can find Laura Howard on the web at:


Friday, November 15, 2013

Review: Speakeasy Dead: a P.G. Wodehouse-Inspired Urban Fantasy by Vicky Loebel

Genre: Humorous Historical Urban Fantasy
Formats avail: ebook
Word Count: approx. 58,000 (Short Novel)
Publication Date: October 2013
Kindle locations: 3311 (story text ends at 88%)
Print Length: 199 estimated pages
Ebook includes a Table of Contents, Glossary, and excerpt from Keys to the Coven
Source: Review Request from Author (but review copy obtained on my own from a free promo) 

SERIES: Hellfire Universe Historicals, #1





BOOK BLURB:
Bright Young DEAD Things
Have Clara Woodsen's attempts to save her silent film idol from an untimely death unleashed a zombie plague? Or are her speakeasy customers just really bad at dancing the Charleston?

Speakeasy manager Clara Woodsen will do anything to save her silent film idol from an untimely death. Even summon a demon. Even bet her soul she can teach his half-human/half-cheetah assistant to foxtrot. But people around town are acting strange. Have Clara's efforts unleashed a zombie plague? Or are her customers just really bad at dancing the Charleston? And can Clara find true happiness with the man of her dreams if she uses her...brains?


MY THOUGHTS:

A warlock, a demon, and a zombie walk into a speakeasy... stop me if you've heard this one.

I read the sample for this book not because I needed to but because I wanted to. It was calling to me because I wanted to visit the Hellfire Universe again. I had already read Keys to the Coven, which I really enjoyed and is set in the same world as this prequel so I already had some familiarity with this world. I was also a little curious about the zombie element of the story. Zombies are not a favorite of mine, but based on my previous experience with this author’s work, I had a feeling these zombies would be the kind I wouldn’t mind reading about. So I thought I’d read the sample just for a taste to satisfy me until I could get back to it. Well, it was like trying to eat just one potato chip. I couldn’t stop and had to keep reading. So here I am. I didn’t mean to read this book right now, but I did and when it was over I wanted more potato chips, dammit!

Speakeasy Dead is a prequel story set in the same world as Keys to the Coven including the Falstaff Ninepin Fellowship (which also houses a coven). It is set in the past during the era of Prohibition. Clara Woodsen, who comes from a family of witches, tries to save her beloved Beau Beauregard, a famous film star, from an untimely death by summoning a demon to make a deal. Of course, as the Girl’s Guide to Demons clearly points out (from Keys to the Coven):
“By now, if you’ve followed the instructions set out in this guide, you’ve formed a beneficial relationship with a demon. The question remains: whose benefit?”  
Thus starts this humorous and engaging romp involving an enterprising newbie warlock, a cousin prone to fainting, a dashing but devious demon, a somewhat narcissistic zombie film star, a formidable golem housekeeper, a genie with two left feet, and a Zorro-esque ghost. Throw in some mobsters, some hooch, and a speakeasy dance contest to round it all out.

I enjoyed all the characters in this story. There is quite a varied bunch of them. They all just jumped off the page for me and felt well-rounded. One of my favorite minor characters was a little boy who fancies himself a cub reporter and doesn’t quite get all his words right to humorous effect. Gladys the golem was interesting as well, but I wish her golem nature was more prevalent in the story. I would like to have seen what she could really do considering even a warlock is hesitant to tangle with a golem. The one disappointment I had with a character was Ned Aimsley, but not because I didn’t like him. It was because I did like him even though he had very little page time in the story. At one point there seemed to be some hint of romantic promise between Ned and Clara but it ended up going nowhere.*sigh* 

Speakeasy Dead is told through the alternating POVs of seventeen-year-old Clara Woodsen and her cousin Bernard “Bernie” Benjamin, who is a few years older than Clara but acts like Clara’s sidekick. The POV switches with each chapter. I actually really like dual POV that is done like this so it worked for me. Just like in Keys to the Coven, each chapter starts out with an epigraph, but given the dual male/female POV, Clara’s chapters start with a quote from The Girl’s Guide to Demons and Bernie’s chapters start with a quote from The Boy’s Book of Boggarts. I liked the epigraphs from Keys better, but I still enjoyed the ones in this book and looked forward to reading them at the beginning of each chapter.

Besides the characters, one of the things I really enjoyed about this book was the humor. I laughed out loud several times. Bernie’s dry wit was delivered with a style that – I think – is representative of the P.G. Wodehouse inspired element of the story. I haven’t read P.G. Wodehouse so I can’t say for sure if this is the case, though I believe I understand the gist of those books.

There were some aspects of the zombie plague that didn’t make sense to me and I thought a big plot hole was looming in the distance, but I had a feeling that everything would come together at some point and it did. On the other hand, there were a few other aspects of the story I questioned concerning what happens to the ankh that houses Luella’s swashbuckling spirit guide; something that Ruthie (the genie) says and does that seemed contradictory; and something that happens to Bernie. All of which I can’t discuss without giving away spoilers. Looking back on these scenes, I can probably see an explanation for some of it. The author’s writing style tends to lean toward letting the reader figure some things out on their own, but some of it was a stretch for me.

On a personal note, there is repeated reference to Narcisse Noir perfume, which is the signature sent of Luella, Clara’s best friend. This happens to be my mother’s favorite perfume. I was gobsmacked when I saw it mentioned. Maybe it was a popular scent back in the 1920s (it has been around since 1911) but it’s not exactly well known or easy to find off the shelf these days. I couldn’t believe it actually came up in the story. It gave my reading experience a little extra something that I could connect with on a personal level.

If you are looking for a classic zombie story with all the associated gore à la The Walking Dead, then this book probably isn’t for you, but if you want a zombie story that is more lighthearted with more humor and less braaaaiiiinnns, then you might be interested in this one. Though I think a reader might appreciate some elements of the story more if they read Keys to the Coven first, it is not completely necessary. How karma works and the relationship between warlocks and demons, etc. are touched on and I think it is explained enough for the story to make sense but there is also a glossary included that describes a lot of these things.

I found Speakeasy Dead to be a well written story with great characters and dialogue, good plotting, unexpected twists, and witty humor that kept me engaged and entertained. I didn’t want to put this book down and would have jumped into the next book if I hadn’t read it already. I’m really looking forward to the next story based in the Hellfire Universe. I just wish I knew when it was coming out and what it would be about...

Cover Art: Though I really like the cover art and it elicits the 1920s era, it doesn't really scream urban fantasy or humor.  It looks more like a 1920s mystery.

Rating:  5 stars

Typos found: 1
* * * * *

Speakeasy Dead is available as an ebook at Amazon
You can find Vicky Loebel on the web at:


Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Review: Ignited by Desni Dantone

Genre: YA Romantic Urban Fantasy
Formats avail: ebook, paperback
Word Count: approx. 86,000
Publication Date: May 2013
Kindle locations: 4766 (story text ends at 99%)
Print Length: 342 pages
Ebook includes a Table of Contents
Source: Review Request from Author (but review copy obtained on my own from a free promo)

SERIES: Ignited, #1

BOOK BLURB:
Seventeen year old Kris Young is on the run from a throng of superhuman golden-eyed freaks hell-bent on seeing her dead, and she doesn't know why. Good thing she has her guardian angel to protect her...sort of.

Kris is aided by Nathan, the mysterious man that ends up being anything but angelic when he rescues her for the fourth time in fourteen years. Even if the handsome hero illusion is shattered by his harsh treatment of her, he knows how to fight this strange enemy and is determined to keep her safe at all costs.

As the body count rises in their wake, Nathan introduces Kris to a world in which not everyone is human and the battle lines between good and evil are clearly drawn. Kris's piece in the puzzle is something neither is aware of and, as they uncover the truth, neither is prepared for what they find. Overcoming twists and revelations that shatter both of their lives, they discover that nothing is as it seems and nothing, least of all their hearts, are safe.

From debut author, Desni Dantone, Ignited is the first novel in a tale of first love, mystery and adventure that will introduce you to an exciting new world as Kris discovers how she fits in it.


MY THOUGHTS:
Kris is seventeen-years-old and has had a mysterious guy (Nathan) looking over her and saving her from dangerous situations for most of her life. He most recently saved her life after a car accident that killed two of her friends.

While recovering from the devastation of losing two of her friends in the car accident, a new boy (Alec) comes to her school and they become friends. He brings her out of her depression and an attraction grows between them. 

While leaving a party one night, Nathan shows up and challenges Alec. They appear to know each other. They fight. Later, Kris and Nathan are attacked. He takes her off to a safe house in the middle of nowhere while being chased by more of the attackers who appear inhuman and have some relationship to Alec. During all of this and through the rest of the story, Kris is learning slowly about who/what Nathan is as little bits and pieces are revealed. She will also discover something unexpected about herself. Alec pretty much disappeared from the story after the fight then shows up again at about 70% into the book 

Kris did a lot of blushing/flushing/burning of the cheeks. There was also a lot of crying, near crying, holding back tears, wiping of tears. She has a lot of doubt about whether Nathan is just an ass in general or if he is acting that way because he actually likes her but doesn’t want to deal with it for some reason (ya think?). Kris isn’t a kick-ass heroine but I didn’t expect her to be. She was, so she thought, just a normal teenager (albeit with a mysterious guardian) suddenly thrust into a situation where her life is threatened and she is being chased by some type of nonhuman beings. So the crying part didn’t get to me that much but the blushing was a little annoying after awhile.

Nathan was very distant, grumpy, arrogant, bossy, etc. but he also had those more tender moments when you knew he was being a jerk because he actually cared for Kris but was trying to distance himself from those emotions because of their complicated relationship. He is not immortal but ages very slowly so he appears to be only in his early twenties. He has watched over Kris since she was a child. Kris is now seventeen and Nathan has now developed deeper feelings for Kris. They do discuss this briefly at the end of the book so I was glad to see that the issue wasn’t just swept under the rug.

Alec had a more carefree personality. He doesn’t hold back his feelings like Nathan or hesitate to make his feelings for Kris known. In the earlier part of the book when he first appears you got the sense he was struggling with a choice, but you didn’t know if he was really the bad guy or not. At least not initially.

The whole dynamic between Kris, Nathan, and Alec felt very similar to the Stephanie, Morelli, Ranger triangle from the Stephanie Plum series. You have two guys attracted to the same woman. One is more of a safe choice and one is more of a bad boy choice. They don’t like each other but are willing to work together when they need to in order to keep her safe. And of course, there is that constant question of who will she choose? Much like the Plum series, this was not resolved by the end of the book so it will probably continue in subsequent books (but hopefully not as long as the neverending Plum series!)

A big chunk of the story takes places at a safe house in the woods somewhere and this part got a little slow. There was enough happening to stick with it but I was glad when the story started moving forward again.

My Nitpicks –
 - There was an inconsistent spelling of gray/grey. This is the second book in row where I have seen this. Seriously, is it that hard to do a search and replace? I’m considering the instances of grey to be the typos since the author appears to be American and I don’t know which spelling was intentional. 

- As noted above, there was much blushing, flushing, and burning of the cheeks – at least twelve instances, but there may have been more instances described with other language. It was a very repetitive behavior for Kris so it eventually got annoying.

- Callie, Kris’s best friend, didn’t appear fazed at all by any of the events she witnessed even though she doesn’t know what is going on when most of it is happening, and she is human, unlike Nathan, and Alec. She should have been freaking out at least a little. She just went with the flow no matter what happened. Guy bleeding from multiple stab wounds in the back seat.. no problem. BFF looks like she was beaten up….no problem. Can’t go to the hospital or they will be discovered… no problem. Explosions…no problem. People chasing them…no problem. Leaving school and family to go on the run with her BFF and two hot inhuman guys… no problem.

- There were a couple of grammar blips that jumped out at me, such as: “That had been Nathan and I’s question from day one”. I’m not a grammar expert, but ... really? I’s? There was also another instance of “Nathan and I” used incorrectly. Overall, I don’t think the grammar was an issue, just a few instances that jumped out at me. 

- There were also a couple of descriptions that sounded awkward and some scenes that didn’t make logical sense to me like when Kris is supposedly tied to a chair yet is able to reach out and take some pills from someone and then put them in her mouth. If she is tied to a chair for interrogation, wouldn’t her hands be tied down?

- When Kris and Nathan get to the cabin, they walk in and immediately have electricity and hot water. Um, okay. Let’s see. Cabin in the middle of nowhere. Where is the electricity/hot water coming from?

There is a romantic triangle and an ending/romance that isn’t resolved. I was told this was a paranormal romance. Um, no. There was no HEA, no I Love You, no resolved ending. Not. A. Romance. Call it a Romantic Urban Fantasy or call it a Paranormal Romantasy, but call it a Paranormal “Romance” and I will have the usual genre expectations of a romance…one of which is an HEA in *this* book.

With that said though, I can live with the ending (yes, I’m just that fickle). I mean, yeah… I didn’t get an HEA and was ticked off about that, but it is not a huge cliffhanger that leaves everything up in the air. The story for this particular book felt sufficiently addressed while setting up the overarching story for the series. The romantic triangle is established but for some reason it didn’t bother me. I think there is some opportunity here for some interesting and even humorous interaction between Alec and Nathan.

So, overall, despite some issues I had, I can say I liked the story. I didn’t love it, but I liked it. We find out what Kris, Nathan, and Alec are but it was a slow reveal so it keeps you guessing for awhile. I liked the hybrid demigod angle of the story. Their mission, so to speak, for the continuing series is established. Enough questions are answered that I can feel satisfied to wait for the next book. As long as each book follows some type of arc and has some resolution to what is happening in that book, then I would keep reading this series.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Heat Level: Mostly Sweet – there was some kissing but that’s it. (I do wonder if the heat level will go up in future books when Kris turns 18.)

Cover Art: I like the cover art. It changed from the initial release but I like them both. I’m not sure of the significance of the title, Ignited. It implies to me that there is something to do with fire in the book, but nobody had that type of power.

Typos found:  7 ~ 11

 * * * * *
Ignited is available as in ebook, paperback and audiobook formats. 
You can find Desni Dantone on the web at:
 Get the book!




Sunday, October 13, 2013

Review: Finding Meara by Lara Schiffbauer

Genre: NA Contemporary Fantasy
Formats avail: ebook
Word Count: approx. 77,500
Publication Date: March 2013
Kindle locations: 3636 (story text ends at 99%)
Print Length: 267 pages (Amazon estimate)
Ebook includes a Table of Contents
Source: Review Request from Author

SERIES:  Adven Realm Adventures, #1

BOOK BLURB:
To keep her safe, twenty-six-year-old Hazel Michelli's parents never told her she was adopted, or that her birthplace was in an alternative land where magic and monsters exist. She found out the truth the day a ferocious winged creature stole her from her Denver apartment and delivered her to Lucian, the sadistic Lifeforce magician who happens to be Hazel’s biological father.

“Dysfunctional family” takes on new meaning when she learns Lucian must sacrifice a daughter to maintain immortality and take over the Realm. When Hazel’s younger half-sister disappears just days before the Rite, Lucian moves Hazel to the top of the sacrificial short list.

Afraid, yet compelled to protect her four-year-old half-sister, Hazel races between both worlds, searching for Meara while being hunted by Lucian. Their lives, and the future of the Realm, leave her no room for failure.

MY THOUGHTS:
It is going to be very difficult for me to discuss aspects of this book without giving away some spoilers. So I’ll start off with a vague overall opinion and then get more specific about some things that jumped out at me after the page break. If you don’t like spoilers, don’t read further than the spoiler alert below.  To see the text highlight the blank area with your mouse.  If you are seeing this on a feed, it may not come through as invisible so just avoid the spoiler section if you don't want to see any spoilers.

When I first read the sample for this book, I was drawn in to the story. The premise of the story interested me and I liked the cover, though I think it makes the heroine appear younger than she is. There was some action early on when Hazel gets kidnapped by the winged creature and brought to another realm. It got my attention and I wanted to keep reading. In the end though, I don’t think the rest of the story lived up to the promise in the sample. It wasn’t a bad story but it didn’t really engage me in the way I expected. I had some issues with the characters and what happened to them. I found some things that made me go “hmm” and there were some technical issues like typos and inconsistent spelling. Not a huge amount, but enough that I noticed it. There was no cliffhanger but I didn’t like the ending and I have no idea where the next book in this series is headed as it seemed pretty much wrapped up. 

Though I was interested enough to finish the book, I can’t say I was really engaged in the story. I could have put the book down and not missed it.
 
So here are some other things that jumped out at me about this story.

***SPOILER SECTION ***
Highlight the area below with your mouse to see the text.

- When Hazel first escapes from the manor, she meets Arden and they have an immediate attraction, but not one they immediately act on. Later in the story she meets Rodd who is also attracted to her and a romantic triangle is born. But it doesn’t last that long since Rodd gets killed off later in the story and the problem of the romantic triangle is resolved. Getting rid of Rodd seemed pointless, because she doesn’t get together with Arden in the end anyway. I don’t think this triangle moved the story forward. I just didn’t see much point in it. In addition, Rodd was a likable character so I was annoyed that he was so quickly removed from the story.

- In one scene Hazel is trying to escape from some caves by going through some type of vent. She sees an apparition of Rodd’s face who stayed behind to fight so she could escape. This vision of him indicates to her that he was killed. Um, oookay. So does she normally have visions or see ghosties? Is this a result of her being in this realm or her innate magical ability? It is noted in the beginning that she makes money by betting on horse races due to a special talent or intuition for picking winners, but I don’t think visions were mentioned. I didn’t see a good reason for her to see an apparition of him and it seemed a bit corny. And yes, this is the third point of the romantic triangle that has now conveniently been removed and leaves the way clear for Arden who, for some reason unexplained, must resist his feelings for Hazel.

***END OF SPOILER SECTION***

-  While escaping through the vent noted above, she can barely move her arms because the space is so restricted, yet the voluminous dress she is wearing has no problem fitting through the small space and doesn’t obstruct her way through the vent? The way it is described I just can’t picture how she is dragging herself through the vent, especially with her legs wrapped up in a long, bulky dress. 

- Loved the Firecat! He didn’t speak but he was always helping Hazel. I do keep wondering why he was there in the manor when Hazel first found him and he helped her to escape. Did the Daragward send him? Does he usually just hang around the big bad’s house waiting for someone to rescue? There is a brief scene with a talking bird in the story though, so I did get my talking animal fix to some degree.

- I suspected who Garron was (the creature who kidnapped Hazel at the beginning) when he showed up outside the caves after Hazel escaped through the vent. He turned out to be one of the more interesting characters to me because of his situation. You could tell there was something more to his character early in the story when Hazel was escaping from the manor. He had a chance to prevent her escape but he didn’t.

- Her biological father, Lucian, the one who wants to sacrifice her to extend his immortality maintained his “evil” character to the end, but he actually doesn’t appear that much in the middle of the story except as an unseen threat who is looking for Hazel and company. His minions seem to do a lot of the searching and chasing of Hazel.

- The heroine, Hazel, is supposed to be 26-years-old, but she felt younger, maybe more like 18. Part of this might be due to the cover art that gives me the feeling of a younger character, but I think it is also her characterization in the story. She just comes across as much younger.

- Rodd picks a lock with apparently nothing but his hands as there were no lock-picking tools mentioned.

- Inconsistent spelling of gray/grey and traveled/travelled. Considering the author appears to be American, I would expect to see gray and traveled to be used, but I have no way of knowing which spelling was intentional. There were a few more typos (but not a huge amount) than I would expect and if you consider all the instances of the inconsistent spelling then it increased the count quite a bit.

- I really didn’t like the ending. The story jumps immediately from the end of the climactic moment to one year ahead. In addition, the romance/attraction with Arden seems to be dried up. You get no information on what happened between them after they defeat Lucian. Arden doesn’t even appear in the story at the end. He is mentioned but only to say that being around him is difficult. Though the end wasn’t a cliffhanger, I didn’t feel satisfied with the ending. I don’t like that there wasn’t a better resolution to Hazel and Arden’s relationship or lack thereof, and I don’t recall it ever being explained why Arden had to resist his feelings for Hazel. I didn’t even need an HEA necessarily. I just wanted to know what the heck happened between them after the big battle. Actually, there was another big thing that happened to Hazel during that year that is also left up to the reader’s imagination, but I won’t give that one away.

So, I read it, liked it well enough to finish but had some issues that dragged it down for me. I can’t really say I am that interested in knowing what happens next and that might have something to do with my disappointment in the ending.

* * *

Heat Level: Mostly sweet with some kissing but there is a memory flashback to a sex scene in the past. It is quick and quite mild in my opinion, not at all explicit.

Typos found: 11 ~ 27 (upper range if you factor in the inconsistent spellings of gray/grey and traveled/travelled)

Rating: 2.5


* * * * * 

You can find Lara Schiffbauer on the web at:
  Website / Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

  Finding Meara is currently only available as an ebook at Amazon
  

Monday, September 30, 2013

Cover Reveal and Giveaway! Sentient by Kenechi Udogu

IPBR welcomes back Kenechi Udogu today to reveal the cover for Sentient, Book 2 in The Mentalist Series. To celebrate the new cover Kenechi is also offering a Giveway. If you want to find out more about this series, take a peek at the review and Whatcha Reading spotlight for Aversion, the first book in the series, here on IPBR.

Don't forget to check out the Giveaway at the bottom of this post for a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card or one of three ebook copies of Sentient.


~~~oOo~~~

And here is the new cover!  Oooh, shiny!

 
 
 Sentient - Book Two of The Mentalist Series

Book Description:
Mastering her Progressive Empath abilities isn’t going as well as Gemma hoped. In fact, months after finding out what she really is, she still has no clue what this truly means. All she can do is wait to see if any new abilities will eventually manifest. Things aren’t going great with Russ either. Unsure of how to handle her Sentient Link with him, she tries to integrate herself in his busy social life but struggles to adjust to her new circumstances.

When she is plagued by recurring nightmares, Gemma realises things are changing and knows she has to do something, fast. The arrival of two sets of strangers in town, both offering the much needed assistance she needs to unearth her powers, escalates the situation even further. Gemma attempts to decipher whose intentions are genuine, but does she have enough time to figure out who has her best interest at heart?

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Expected Release Date: 28th October 2013


Goodreads link: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18483384-sentient


~~~oOo~~~


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Kenechi lives in London and enjoys writing fantasy/paranormal fiction and short stories (some of which she posts on her blog). She also hates the cold and hopes to one day figure out how to hibernate in winter.


You can find Kenechi Udogu online at:





Thanks for stopping by to share your cover reveal for Sentient. It ties in nicely with the first cover. I remember wondering what that orb meant when I read Aversion, but it is explained in the first book in case anyone else is wondering! :)






GIVEAWAY TIME!
Enter for a chance to win a $20 Amazon gift card (one winner) or an ebook copy of Sentient (3 winners). Ebook winners have their choice of  epub, mobi, or pdf format.



Good Luck to all the giveaway entrants!